Corb Lund Covers AC/DC, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel for New EP

Hear him take on Dr. Hook's "Cover of the Rolling Stone" from 'Cover Your Tracks'
Corb Lund Covers AC/DC, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel for New EP
Corb Lund has announced he's coming back into our lives with a new covers project, taking on tracks by the likes of AC/DC, Bob Dylan and Billy Joel.

The EP release is called Cover Your Tracks, and it will arrive on September 13 via New West Records.

The record is made up of eight songs. In addition to taking on tracks by those aforementioned artists, Lund also covers works by Nancy Sinatra, Marty Robbins, the Eagles, and Willie Nelson & Ray Charles.  

Right now, though, Lund has shared Dr. Hook & the Medicine Show's "Cover of the Rolling Stone," written by Shel Silverstein. Hear his rendition below.

Cover Your Tracks was produced by Lund and John Evans, and features guest appearances from Hayes Carll and Ian Tyson. The EP also includes Lund's backing band, the Hurtin Albertans, consisting of Kurt Ciesla, Grant Siemens, and Brady Valgardson. 

In a statement about the EP, Lund said the following:

Earlier this year I recorded a bunch of cover songs by some of my favourite artists and writers from various periods in my life, mostly for fun and to get them out of my system. Many of the songs we've been playing live for years. Being re-inspired by this stuff and getting back in the studio to cut it was a great warm up for making another record of my own songs, which I'm working hard on writing as we speak. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy listening to these old favourites as much as we enjoyed recording them.

In addition to the new EP, Lund will enter the studio this summer to record his next album, which is slated to arrive in 2020.

You can now pre-order Cover Your Tracks.

Cover Your Tracks:

1. These Boots Are Made for Walkin' 
2. The Cover of the Rolling Stone (ft. Hayes Carll)
3. They're Hanging Me Tonight 
4. Outlaw Man 
5. Ride On (ft. Ian Tyson)
6. Seven Spanish Angels 
7. It's Still Rock And Roll To Me
8. I Shall Be Released