Comeback Kid Return with New Album 'Heavy Steps'

A video for the title track sees the band open up the pit at a children's birthday party

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Oct 29, 2021

Comeback Kid have shared details of their first new album since 2017. The Canadian hardcore mainstays will share seventh full-length Heavy Steps on January 21 via New Damage/Nuclear Blast.

Following 2017's Outsider, the 11-song Heavy Steps was recorded by Comeback Kid in Winnipeg with producer John Paul Peters, who previously worked on the band's 2003 debut, Turn It Around.

Gojira vocalist/guitarist Joe Duplantier and Australian metal vocalist/drummer JJ (Deez Nuts, I Killed the Prom Queen) also make guest appearances, while the album was mixed by Will Putney (Knocked Loose, Every Time I Die). 

Alongside today's news, Comeback Kid have shared a video for their new album's title track. Directed by Kevin Keegan, the clip shows the band have been kidnapped to play a 10-year-old's birthday party. It takes a little while for the guests to get into Comeback Kid's furious, groovy hardcore, but it's worth the watch for the pint-sized Wall of Death mosh pit moves towards the end.

Of "Heavy Steps," vocalist Andrew Neufeld shares, "I think of our new a bold statement of a riff right off the bat, and lyrically coming from an unhinged perspective about tearing through life. Instinct over reason — without even realizing how easily our worlds could implode from under our feet. A bit of a 'just test me'-type sentiment is being echoed in this song."

As previously reported, Comeback Kid will tour Canada with Cancer Bats next spring.

Heavy Steps

1. Heavy Steps
2. No Easy Way Out
3. Face the Fire
4. Crossed (feat. Joe Duplantier)
5. Everything Relates (feat. JJ)
6. Dead on the Fence
7. Shadow of Doubt
8. True to Form
9. In Between
10. Standstill
11. Menacing Weight

Latest Coverage