Codeine Live Album Prepped by Numero for Record Store Day

Codeine Live Album Prepped by Numero for Record Store Day
Last year, '90s slow core vets Codeine were treated to a loving reissue campaign from crate-diggers the Numero Group, but there's apparently at least one more release in store from this particular partnership. The label has now announced that it is delivering a concert set called What About the Lonely.

A press release asserts that the live LP drops in a one-time pressing of 2,000 150-gram LPs this coming Record Store Day (April 20), and will not arrive on CD or digitally. The eight-song set was taken directly from the soundboard at Chicago's Lounge Ax in 1993 while the band were on tour supporting Mazzy Star.

According to press materials, David Grubbs of Chicago post-rock unit Gastr Del Sol played guitar on a pair of tracks, slinking on and off the stage with little fanfare, but leaving an indelible mark on the performance. The tracklisting is heavy on the troupe's then-unreleased The White Birch LP, though some tracks arrived in 1993 on 7-inch vinyl. You can see the details down below.

What About the Lonely:

1. Cave-In
2. Loss Leader
3. Jr
4. Pickup Song
5. Ides
6. Tom
7. Wird
8. Smoking Room