City and Colour Dishes Little Hell Details, Drops iTunes EP

City and Colour Dishes <i>Little Hell</i> Details, Drops iTunes EP
Dallas Green started tipping us off to his third record as gentle acoustic rocker City and Colour last month, announcing that his latest album would be called Little Hell and that it would be coming out sometime this June. While it wasn't too much to go on, it was a start. One month later, it looks as if the guy is feeling extra generous this month, considering he's now given us a tracklisting and a firm release date to circle on our calendars.

Little Hell will be unleashed June 7 on Dine Alone. According to the press release, the album is said to spread Green's wings a little more, highlighting a number of different songwriting styles, from "Blues-tinged rockers to pedal steel-soaked acoustic gems."

While there are sure to be some heart-warming numbers -- this is the guy who got us swooning with sweetly sung tunes like "Save your Scissors," after all -- the new album reportedly finds him exploring his dark side too. "Sorrowing Man," for instance, is said to be "dark and brooding" and "anchored by an ominous organ." Other tunes like "Northern Wind," however, are still said to feature the "beautiful intimacy" we've come to expect from the songwriter. Check out the tracklisting below.

One thing we didn't expect, however, is a new live EP from City and Colour. Released this week on iTunes, the four-song iTunes Live: SXSW chronicles a short set Green performed at last week's South by Southwest music conference.

Little Hell:

1. "We Found Each Other in the Dark"
2. "Natural Disaster"
3. "The Grand Optimist"
4. "Little Hell"
5. "Fragile Bird"
6. "Northern Wind"
7. "O'Sister"
8. "Weightless"
9. "Sorrowing Man"
10. "Silver and Gold"
11. "Hope for Now"