Chromeo, A-Trak and Ric Wilson Team Up for Collaborative EP 'CLUSTERFUNK'

King Louie and members of Dead Prez, Dirty Projectors contribute

Photo: Marcus Lorenzo

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 15, 2023

Chromeo, A-Trak and Ric Wilson have unveiled a new collaborative project. The ever-funky Canadian duo, world-renowned DJ and producer, and Chicago artist and activist will unleash CLUSTERFUNK on March 31 via EMPIRE / Free Disco.

The nine-track CLUSTERFUNK is described as "a rap record rooted in people power," bringing Wilson, Chromeo's Patrick "P-Thugg" Gemayel and the Brothers Macklovitch together to "fight the power and find the groove" in circumstances befitting of a funk-fuelled response.

Joining the collaborators in grooving through turbulent times are Chicago drill progenitor King Louie, Felicia Douglass (Dirty Projectors, Ava Luna), of Dead Prez and Kiéla Adira. A press release also points to the inclusion of a passage from American activist and organizer Mariame Kaba.

CLUSTERFUNK's title track arrives today following the previously shared "Pay It No Mind," both of which you can hear below. On the former, Wilson taps in "From the house mecca / Where n— clout check us" with laser-focused verses atop some plush, yet equally focused production.

A-Trak's prolific 2022 included the release of EPs 10 Seconds, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, and the arrival of a long-awaited album with Cam'ron.

Earlier this month, Chromeo shared Morgan Geist-assisted single "Words with You."


1. Whiskey in My Coffee (feat. King Louie)
2. Clusterfunk
3. Pay It No Mind
4. Gimmi a Minnit
5. Everyone Moves to LA (feat. Felicia Douglass)
6. When Mariame Kabe Speaks Listen
7. Git Up Off My Neck (feat. of Dead Prez)
8. Iʼm Not a Leader Iʼm a Mouthpiece
9. Muted Not Voiceless (feat. Kiéla Adira)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage