Chrissie Hynde Taps Neil Young, Björn Yttling, John McEnroe for 'Stockholm' Solo Album

Chrissie Hynde Taps Neil Young, Björn Yttling, John McEnroe for 'Stockholm' Solo Album
Over 35 years after founding the Pretenders, leader Chrissie Hynde is ready to step outside of the long-running rock group to reveal her first-ever solo album. Recorded in Sweden with Peter, Bjorn and John's Björn Yttling, the record comes with the fitting title Stockholm, and it hits retailers June 10 through Caroline.

Press material confirms that Hynde travelled out to Stockholm to work at Ingrid Studios with Yttling, who took on production duties. Additionally, the album has Hynde bringing in a few other friends, including Neil Young, Tennis icon John McEnroe and Caesars member Joakim Åhlund. It's unknown at present how the guests figure on the LP.

"It's the first album with my name on it," Hynde said in a statement of the record. "But it's not a solo album. In fact, making this album was more of a collaboration than any Pretenders album ever was."

The album is described as being "very danceable" and sounding something like "Abba meets John Lennon," with the first single from the 11-song set being "Dark Sunglasses." You can sample the fun and free-spirited track, which features Hynde's cool and calm vocals, big guitar strums, and jumpy Peter Bjorn and John-style percussion, down below.

"So much of rock'n'roll has become what I would call Glory Rock, with family values," Hynde adds of the current state of rock. "It's the irreverence in rock that was always the turn-on. I disagree with people who say you shouldn't take yourself too seriously. I think life is serious, and you should take it seriously, but in rock'n'roll either have a fucking laugh or fuck off."

Hynde's last full-length with the Pretenders was 2008's Break Up the Concrete, while she teamed up with Welsh songwriter JP Jones for 2010's Fidelity! collaboration.


1. You or No One

2. Dark Sunglasses

3. Like in the Movies

4. Down the Wrong Way

5. You're the One

6. A Plan Too Far

7. In a Miracle

8. House of Cards

9. Tourniquet (Cynthia Ann)

10. Sweet Nuthin

11. Adding the Blue