Cheap Trick, Steve Miller, N.W.A. Inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Cheap Trick, Steve Miller, N.W.A. Inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced the latest five artists to be considered amongst its esteemed elite. Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple, Steve Miller and N.W.A. are all set to receive a spot in the hallowed Hall of Fame come 2016.
The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY, on April 8. Tickets will go on sale to the public in February, and the event will be broadcast on HBO later in the spring.
This year's decision follows the previously revealed list of nominations, and means that Janet Jackson, the Smiths, Nine Inch Nails, Chic, the Cars, Chaka Khan, the JB's, Los Lobos, the Spinners and Yes will have to keep waiting to earn a coveted spot.
"It's everything that kind of eluded us in a lot of ways when we were coming up," N.W.A.'s Ice Cube told Rolling Stone, speaking about the historic honour. "So many people were opinionated about N.W.A. I think everyone now at this point, no matter how you feel about us, understands what the group actually did and what it means to modern music."
He hinted that the iconic rap group might be willing to perform at the ceremony, though no acts have been confirmed to appear yet.
Last year's event featured performances from Beck, Dave Grohl and John Legend; Lou Reed, Green Day, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Bill Wither and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band were inducted in 2015.