Caribou Announces Andorra Follow-Up

Caribou Announces <i>Andorra</i> Follow-Up
We've been hearing rumblings about this one for a while, but now it's official: Dan Snaith's Caribou will return in 2010 with a new full-length. Dubbed Swim, this follow-up to 2007's Polaris Music Prize-winning Andorra will arrive on April 20 courtesy of Merge (April 19 in the UK and Europe via City Slang).

In a statement, Snaith said of the new album: "I got excited by the idea of making dance music that's liquid in the way it flows back and forth, the sounds slosh around in pitch, timbre, pan... dance music that sounds like it's made out of water, rather than made out of metallic stuff like most dance music does."

The record was recorded partly in Wales and back in a Hamilton, ON studio run by Junior Boy Jeremy Greenspan. For guests, it boasts appearances by Born Ruffians' Luke Lalonde (who sings on album closer "Jamelia") and a Toronto, ON-based free-jazz quartet made up of Colin Fisher (tenor), Kyle Brenders (bass clarinet and soprano saxophone), Rob Piilonen (flute) and Steve Ward (trombone).

According to the press release, a series of live performances are slated for later this year, although no dates have yet been announced. In the meantime, you can download new album track "Odessa" here.


1. "Odessa"

2. "Sun"

3. "Kaili"

4. "Found Out"

5. "Bowls"

6. "Leave House"

7. "Hannibal"

8. "Lalibela"

9. "Jamelia"