Can's Irmin Schmidt Celebrated with Retrospective Box Set

Can's Irmin Schmidt Celebrated with Retrospective Box Set
Irmin Schmidt's career with Can has been documented countless times across re-releases and box sets, but it's his work outside the Krautrock icons that will be the focus of an upcoming retrospective collection via Mute. The 12-CD Electro Violet covers Schmidt's solo material, soundtrack work and more, and it arrives November 20.

A press release explains that the forthcoming compendium observes the "unparalleled genius" of Schmidt from his first post-Can release, 1981's Toy Planet collaboration with Swiss jazz musician Bruno Spoerri, up to the present day. It adds 1987's Musk at Dusk and 1991's Impossible Holidays, a pair of solo albums that found Schmidt singing lyrics penned by author Duncan Fallowell, as well as their Gormenghast opera.

Elsewhere, the box covers Schmidt's two-album partnership with electronic composer Jono Podmore as Irmin Schmidt & Kumo. Six discs' worth of Schmidt's film and TV score work also fill Electro Violet. The Film Musik Anthology portion of the box covers the years between 1994 and 2015, and includes pieces for Palermo Shooting, Schneeland, Bloch, Tatort, and his work on 2013 TV film Mord in Eberswalde. The latter nabbed a Best Film Music award from the Deutsche Akademie Für Fernsehen.

Down below, you can check out a stream of "Why Not," a previously unreleased piece pulled from the score to German director Stephan Wagner's 2012 film, Lösegeld.

On the packaging side of things, Electro Violet comes with an 80-page book with liner notes from Schmidt and Max Dax. The albums will be each be presented in gatefold sleeves featuring artwork from FRANEK.

While Electro Violet is the most extensive collection of Schmidt's post-Can career, Mute had pieced-together a smaller, double-disc compilation of his work as Villa Wunderbar in 2013.

Electro Violet box set:


Toy Planet (1981)
Musk At Dusk (1987)
Impossible Holidays (1991)
Gormenghast - A Fantasy Opera (2000)
Masters of Confusion (2001)
Axolotl Eyes (2008)


Film Musik Anthology Vol. 1 (1994)
Film Musik Anthology Vol. 2 (1994)
Film Musik Anthology Vol. 3 (1994)
Film Musik Anthology Vol. 4 (2009)
Film Musik Anthology Vol. 5 (2009)
Film Musik Anthology Vol. 6 (2015)