Cannibal Corpse Announce 'A Skeletal Domain'

Cannibal Corpse Announce 'A Skeletal Domain'
Death metal icons Cannibal Corpse have unveiled all the gory details behind their 13th full-length album, A Skeletal Domain. The Buffalo bonecrushers give up the goods September 16 through longtime label home Metal Blade Records.

  A press release for the set explains that following a trio of LPs recorded with Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal, Tombs), lastly with 2012's Torture, the band opted to switch things up and track their latest LP with Mark Lewis (the Black Dahlia Murder, DevilDriver) at Florida's Audio Hammer Studios. The 12-song set is described as "a massive, belligerent, and deliberate aural attack," with the producer claiming in a statement that "there are moments on this record that have never happened in musical history."

"At the end of the day, we're still making a death metal record, no matter where it's being recorded," bassist Alex Webster reports, adding that Cannibal Corpse switched producers so that the band could push themselves out of their comfort zone. "Consistency is often confused with repetition. We are established with what we do as a band, and we could relax and not push ourselves, but we try to push the envelope. That's what makes this exciting. Anyone who really listens to this album with an open mind will hear that it's not same-old same-old."

Up above, you'll see the twisted, bony landscape that serves as A Skeletal Domain's artwork, while you'll find the thrashy riffs, wicked beats and familiarly guttural vocals of George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher in the album's first single, "Sadistic Embodiment," down below.

In other news, Cannibal Corpse's first official band biography, Bible of Butchery — Cannibal Corpse: The Official Biography, will be released later this fall. The 150-page tome was written by Joel McIver and will also feature photos from throughout the band's career.

Cannibal Corpse are also touring as part of the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival this summer, with a lone Canadian date scheduled July 25 at Toronto's Molson Amphitheatre. You'll find the rest of their tour dates here.

A Skeletal Domain:

1. High Velocity Impact Spatter
2. Sadistic Embodiment
3. Kill Or Become
4. A Skeletal Domain
5. Headlong Into Carnage
6. The Murderer's Pact
7. Funeral Cremation
8. Icepick Lobotomy
9. Vector Of Cruelty
10. Bloodstained Cement
11. Asphyxiate To Resuscitate
12. Hollowed Bodies