Buck 65 Celebrates 20 Odd Years with Collaborations with Gord Downie, Nick Thorburn, Hannah Georgas

Buck 65 Celebrates <i>20 Odd Years</i> with Collaborations with Gord Downie, Nick Thorburn, Hannah Georgas
It's been 20 years since Buck 65 (aka Richard Terfry) first entered the music industry, and in that time, he has become one of Canada's most popular rappers. To celebrate his two decades in the business, the much-loved MC will be releasing a new album, 20 Odd Years, on February 1 via Warner.

The 13-song set is heavy on guests, with some of the most notable contributors including Tragically Hip icon Gord Downie, Islands/Unicorns singer Nick Thorburn, Hannah Georgas, Jenn Grant, Olivia Ruiz and Gentleman Reg.

In a press release, Buck 65 said, "Recently, I came to realize that I've been getting weird on tape for 20 years. I decided to celebrate and invited a bunch of my fellow sub-normals to the party. We ate paste and pretended we knew what each other was talking about. It was uncomfortable a lot of the time, but lots of exciting music was frankensteined."

As for what fans can expect from the album, it promises to offer Buck 65's usual experimental blend of hip-hop, blues and folk. The Downie collaboration ("Whispers of the Waves") is "a waltz for people to dance to alone," while the track recorded with French pop singer Ruiz is "a song about vampires called 'Tears of Your Heart.' Neither of us has any memory of making it."

Much of the album's tracklist is culled from this year's digital-only EP series. There are also a few new songs. Expect Canadian tour dates to be announced soon.

UPDATE: Sorry, Gentleman Reg fans, his guest appearance on "Smalltown Boy" has been removed from the album and replaced with "Who By Fire," which features Jenn Grant.

20 Odd Years:

1. "Superstars Don't Love"
2. "Gee Whiz" (ft. Nick Thornburn)
3. "Whispers of the Waves" (ft. Gord Downie)
4. "Paper Airplane" (ft. Jenn Grant)
5. "Stop" (ft. Hannah Georgas)
6. "Zombie Delight"
7. "Tears of Your Heart" (ft. Olivia Ruiz)
8. "Cold Steel Drum" (ft. Jenn Grant)
9. "Smalltown Boy" (ft. Gentleman Reg)
9. "Who By Fire" (ft. Jenn Grant)
10. "She Said Yes"
11. "BCC" (ft. John Southworth)
12. "Lights Out"
13. "Final Approach" (ft. Marie-Pierre Arthur)