Bruce Springsteen's Making of the Darkness on the Edge of Town DVD Gets Stand-alone Release

Bruce Springsteen's <i>Making of the Darkness on the Edge of Town</i> DVD Gets Stand-alone Release
Last year, Bruce Springsteen unveiled a massive box set for his 1978 classic Darkness on the Edge of Town. This included the unreleased album The Promise, as well as a slew of unheard extras and a documentary. Now, the DVD documentary The Promise: The Making of the Darkness on the Edge of Town will be getting its own stand-alone release.

Sony will release the 90-minute feature on May 3. If you've already watched the documentary, you might be interested in the package's extra features. This includes footage from a December 2010 performance, with Springsteen and the E Street Band playing four songs from The Promise, plus "Blue Christmas." This add-on package called Songs from The Promise was recorded at the Carousel House in Asbury Park, NJ. You can read more about that show here.

There's also a 22-minute Q&A session with Bruce and biographer Dave Marsh, which was recorded for Sirius XM's E Street Radio channel. A press release says that this "intimate" interview finds the singer "at his most candid."

The tracklist for the Asbury Park performance is below. Pre-order the documentary on DVD or Blu-ray here.

Songs from The Promise:

1. "Racing in the Street ('78)"
2. "Gotta Get That Feeling"
3. "Ain't Good Enough for You"
4. "The Promise"
5. "Blue Christmas"