Broken Social Scene Return with New Album 'Hug of Thunder'

Broken Social Scene Return with New Album 'Hug of Thunder'
The reunited Broken Social Scene have been teasing a new album for a while now, sharing new single "Halfway Home" and hinting at a summer release date. Well, that release date is fast approaching.
After the album title and tracklist leaked on the r/indieheads Reddit thread, rep for the band has confirmed to Pitchfork that Hug of Thunder will arrive on July 7 via Arts & Crafts/City Slang.

According to Stereogum, the album takes its name from the track that Feist lent her talents to.
"I said 'I really want to be involved, but I need to contribute something that means something to me,'" Feist recently told Exclaim!, speaking about the new BSS record. "I went to the Bathouse [studio, owned by the Tragically Hip] and spent four days with people I've known forever, people with whom you're both visible and invisible — there's no self-consciousness. We wrote this song in three passes that's on the record. Then I paused and wrote the lyrics, so there is a story that will matter to me."
Other tracks that will appear on the upcoming LP include cuts called "Sol Luna," "Protest Song," "Skyline," "Stay Happy" and an optimistic ender called "Gonna Get Better."
See the full tracklist for Hug of Thunder below. The album artwork has also surfaced online, and you'll find it pictured above. You can pre-order the album on Coke bottle clear vinyl here.

Broken Social Scene's last album arrived with Forgiveness Rock Record back in 2010.
Hug of Thunder:
1. Sol Luna
2. Halfway Home
3. Protest Song
4. Skyline
5. Stay Happy
6. Vanity Pail Kids
7. Hug Of Thunder
8. Towers And Masons
9. Victim Lover
10. Please Take Me With You
11. Gonna Get Better
12. Mouth Guards of the Apocalypse