Bright Eyes Return with The People's Key

Bright Eyes Return with <i>The People's Key</i>
Bright Eyes are back, everybody! News came early this morning (November 30) from the group's label, Saddle Creek, that the Conor Oberst-led squadron will issue a new album, The People's Key, early next year.

Oberst dusted off the Bright Eyes moniker for his touching "Coyote Song" video a couple of months back, but the prolific performer hasn't issued an album as such since 2007's Cassadaga. Though the dude has kept himself busy with solo albums and the Monsters of Folk supergroup, longtime fans will no doubt be stoked to see Oberst return to his roots.

"Fully realized and bursting with charisma, The People's Key is an assured and accomplished album, artfully arranged and filled with the engaging and mesmeric songwriting for which Oberst is renowned," a press release explains.

While the disc features the core lineup of Oberst, fellow folk monster Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott, there are a number of guest musicians on the set, including Andy LeMaster (Now It's Overhead), Matt Maginn (Cursive), Carla Azar (Autolux), Clark Baechle (the Faint), Shane Aspegren (the Berg Sans Nipple), Laura Burhenn (the Mynabirds) and Denny Brewer (Refried Ice Cream).

The People's Key, Bright Eyes' seventh studio effort, was recorded in Omaha, NE in the group's ARC Studios by Mogis. It will be released February 15, and you can check out the tracklisting below.

The group have also announced a couple of upcoming concerts, which you can also see below.

The People's Key:

1. "Firewall"

2. "Shell Games"

3. "Jejune Stars"

4. "Approximate Sunlight"

5. "Haile Selassie"

6. "A Machine Spiritual (In The People's Key)"

7. "Triple Spiral"

8. "Beginner's Mind"

9. "Ladder Song"

10. "One For You, One For Me"

Tour dates:

3/9 New York City - Radio City Music Hall
6/23 London - Royal Albert Hall