Braids Announce 'Flourish // Perish' Full-Length

Braids Announce 'Flourish // Perish' Full-Length
When Braids revealed their In Kind // Amends 12-inch earlier this year, singer Raphaelle Standell-Preston spoke with Exclaim! about the group's altered lineup and their interest in electronic music. Soon, fans will experience the full scope of the band's new vision when they release the full-length Flourish // Perish on August 20 through Flemish Eye in Canada.

The album marks the follow-up to 2011's Native Speaker. While that previous record was created in a live full-band environment, this one was composed electronically during a year of seclusion. It features former member Katie Lee, who left the group during the sessions.

According to a press release, "The band brings their widely disparate strengths together to create a distinctive voice; the organic and complex rhythms dance and spar with sparsely decorative sounds, often fragmented and tampered with."

Of the outfit's interest in synthesizer music, Standell-Preston previously told Exclaim!, "It's strikingly beautiful. It's very amazing, and to me, it reflects where we have gone to as a human race in 2013 and our involvement with the iPhone and laptops and everybody being interconnected. That's one of the reasons I think that electronic music excites something inside of me."

The double-vinyl album includes the EP tracks "In Kind" and "Amends." The former track is the only song on the collection that includes guitars. Stream that below, along with the previously unveiled "Amends."

Read Standell-Preston's interview with Exclaim! about the recent sessions here.

In Kind // Amends, meanwhile, still arrives via Flemish Eye on June 11.

Flourish // Perish:

1. Victoria
2. Fruend
3. December
4. Hossak
5. Girl
6. Together
7. Ebben
8. Amends
9. Juniper
10. In Kind

Tour dates:

6/11 Montreal, QC - Casa Del Popolo
6/13 Toronto, ON - Arbutus Showcase @ NXNE
6/15 Brooklyn, NY - Cameo Gallery @ Northside Festival