Bonnie "Prince" Billy Collects Peel Sessions on 'Pond Scum' LP

Bonnie 'Prince' Billy Collects Peel Sessions on 'Pond Scum' LP
There's no denying the mark that the late John Peel left on modern music, and his Peel sessions on BBC radio featured some of the world's most interesting musicians. Among them was Bonnie "Prince" Billy, who has decided to turn his three sessions into a new album.

The resulting record is called Pond Scum, and sees Will Oldham offering stripped-down arrangements of a wide variety of his own songs (along with a cover of Prince's "The Cross"). The album also includes a previously unreleased song called "Beezle."

The first four tracks on Pond Scum include musician David Heumann, but otherwise the album sees Bonnie "Prince" Billy working on his own.

Pond Scum will arrive on January 22 through Drag City.

Rather than offer a preview of the album itself, you can check out a stripped-down version of "Rich Wife Full of Happiness" below. The recording is said to be "similar in tone" to Pond Scum.

Pond Scum:

1. (I was Drunk at the) Pulpit
2. Death to Everyone
3. Arise, Therefore
4. Jolly Five
5. Beezle
6. Jolly One
7. When Thy Song Flows Through Me
8. The Houseboat (O How I Enjoy the Light)
9. Trudy Dies
10. The Cross
11. Stable Will
12. The Idol on the Bar