The Besnard Lakes to Return in 2010 with New Full-Length

The Besnard Lakes to Return in 2010 with New Full-Length
It feels like ages since we had any news from the Besnard Lakes. Last we heard from the Montreal collective, they were busy scoring a flick for Mark Ruffalo and launching a side-project or two, with their last proper full-length being 2007's Exclaim! fave The Besnard Lakes Are the Dark Horse. Well, it looks as if we'll soon be hearing a lot more from the Lakes come 2010.

The band have announced that on March 9 they will finally follow up Dark Horse with The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night, which will be released via Outside Music in Canada and on Jagjaguwar in the U.S. Marking their third full-length, the ten-track LP was recorded by front-man Jace Lasek in his Breakglass Studios, apparently on some gear that was used to record parts of Led Zeppelin's Physical Graffiti.

According to the press release, the record involves "a twisting chronicle of spies, double agents, novelists and aspiring rock gods turned violent. Loyalty, dishonor, love, and hatred are all seen through the eyes of two spies, communicating through short wave in code and fighting a war that may or may not be real." It also supposedly comes chock full of "affected drones and atmospherics," "toughened immediacy" and "grit."

And while March may still seem a while off to hear the record, you'll get a chance to check out new song "Albatross" on February 9 when it's released as a twelve-inch single complete with non-album track "Four Long Lines."

There's no word yet of any accompanying tour, but we're guessing that announcement is right around the corner.

Albatross twelve-inch:

Side A: "Albatross"
Side B: "Four Long Lines"

The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night:

1. "Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent; Pt. 1: The Ocean"
2. "Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent; Pt. 2: The Innocent"
3. "Chicago Train"
4. "Albatross"
5. "Glass Printer"
6. "Land of Living Skies; Pt. 1: The Land"
7. "Land of Living Skies; Pt. 2: The Living Skies"
8. "And This is What We Call Progress"
9. "Light Up The Night"
10. "The Lonely Moan"