Bernice Return with New Album 'Eau de Bonjourno'

Hear opener "Groove Elation" from the Toronto five-piece now
Bernice Return with New Album 'Eau de Bonjourno'
Toronto experimental pop outfit Bernice have returned with details of a new record. The five-piece will share Eau de Bonjourno on March 5 through new label home Telephone Explosion.

The 10-track Eau de Bonjourno follows Bernice's Polaris Music Prize long-listed album Puff LP: In the air without a shape, which Exclaim! named one of the Top 20 Pop & Rock Albums of 2018.

The upcoming album was written during a month-long artist residency on the Toronto Islands and was recorded over 10 days in Brooklyn last year with producer Shahzad Ismaily.

Group leader Robin Dann noted in a press release that Eau de Bonjourno "openly plays with the shape of a pop song," drawing on the band members' backgrounds in jazz to create a sound "experimental in its truest definition."

Album opener "Groove Elation" arrives alongside today's news, and you can hear it below.

Of the song, Dann offered, "Think of this song as a ripple through many decades of a life. A silver goblet shines on pink woolen stripes. Maybe this is enough! Maybe we have all that we need to groove. Whether you slept well, stayed up, spoke up or stayed quiet, you're here now and we should 'groove it for sure.' Let us take you there: floating on the surface of a loving feeling."

Eau de Bonjourno:

1. Groove Elation
2. It's Me, Robin
3. Big Mato
4. Dry River Bed
5. Lone Swan
6. Empty Cup
7. Personal Bubble
8. Your Beautiful House
9. Infinite Love
10. We Choose You