beabadoobee Announces Sophomore Album 'Beatopia,' Roars Back into Ears and Hearts with New Single "Talk"

The album arrives July 15 via Dirty Hit

BY James MartensPublished Mar 23, 2022

UK singer-songwriter beabadoobee (a.k.a. Beatrice Laus) just announced her upcoming sophomore album, Beatopia, which is due to arrive on July 15 via Dirty Hit. In addition, she has released new single "Talk" and its accompanying video.

Beatopia's announcement arrives in the wake of 2020's critically acclaimed debut full-length Fake It Flowers and the more pop-oriented 2021 EP, Our Extended Play. If "Talk" — with its thick sheets of fuzzy bass and guitars — is any indication, the album will continue in the direction of the '90s-inspired sounds of that debut full-length.

In a press release, Laus had this to say about the song: "Generally, it's about doing things that aren't necessarily healthy or great for you, but you can't help indulging. It's like that unavoidable feeling that you get. You can't get rid of it, and you know it's bad, but you love it really, and it's whatever, so you do it anyways."

Check out Alexandra Leese and Luke Casey's music video for "Talk" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

1. Beatopia Cultsong
2. 10:36
3. Sunny Day
4. See You Soon
5. Ripples
6. The Perfect Pair
7. Broken CD
8. Talk
9. Lovesong
10. Pictures of Us
11. Fairy Song
12. Don't Get the Deal
13. Tinkerbell Is Overrated (ft. PinkPantheress)
14. You're Here That's the Thing

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage