Axxa/Abraxas Signs to Captured Tracks for Debut Album

Axxa/Abraxas Signs to Captured Tracks for Debut Album
Captured Tracks' focus on jangly new wave textures is once again coming to the limelight, though this time via new signee Axxa/Abraxas (a.k.a. Athens, GA singer-songwriter Ben Asbury). The project's self-titled debut album arrives March 4.

The 10-song full-length was recorded and produced by Jarvis Taveniere (Woods, Rear House Recording), with a press release noting that the tracks were written and demoed while Asbury was in college studying psychology, religion and sociology. During this time, he developed an appreciation for analog synths, which are said to have influenced the outcome of Axxa/Abraxas.

The record apparently mines a psych-pop sound, with touchstones including Neil Young, Television Personalities and Olivia Tremor Control. For a taste of what's to come, you can check out the organ-swirling teaser cut "I Almost Fell" in the SoundCloud player at the bottom of the page. According to Asbury, the tune "touches on how ideas and experiences that seam significant at one point in time can seam so trivial in retrospect." 


1. Ryan Michalak (Is Coming to Town)
2. Going Forth
3. I Almost Fell
4. Beyond The Wind
5. Same Signs
6. So Far Away
7. Ride Into the Night
8. Painted Blue
9. On The Run
10. All That's Passed