Atticus Ross and the Haxan Cloak's 'Almost Holy' Gets Soundtrack Release

Atticus Ross and the Haxan Cloak's 'Almost Holy' Gets Soundtrack Release
While often found collaborating with Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross sought out different musical partners for his latest film score. After teaming up with brother Leopold Ross and the Haxan Cloak's Bobby Krlic to deliver music for Ukrainian street life-centred documentary, Almost Holy, the score will now be getting an official soundtrack release through Sacred Bones.

The three sound artists' score will be given a commercial release on August 19. The collection features music from the documentary, as well as material that didn't make it into the movie. The score was prepped with the Ross brothers working on their contributions in the U.S., while the Krlic-crafted tracks were made in the UK.

Almost Holy was premiered earlier this year at the Tribeca Film Festival. It focuses on the life of Gennadiy Mokhnenko, a pastor in Mariupol, Ukraine, who helps homeless, drug-addicted children get off the streets. A press release notes that the film's "depiction of a country in the grip of poverty, addiction, and warfare is made even more powerful by its captivating electronic score."

"Occasionally a project comes along where one feels compelled to contribute," Atticus Ross said in a statement, noting he'd seen early footage of the documentary before officially signing on to the project.

He added: "It's a different world over there — of course we have dire poverty in the U.S. — but to see an army of drug-addicted children living in those conditions, children the same age as my own, under 10 years old but covered in track marks and sleeping on sewers to stay warm, and someone is asking you to write a little music to help the cause. It would be hard to find a reason not to."

Below, you'll find the full breakdown for the score, as well as a video for the Ross brothers' "Punching Bag."

In recent years, Atticus Ross gained attention for working with Nine Inch Nails founder Trent Reznor on film scores for The Social Network, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Gone Girl.

Almost Holy - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

1. Atticus Ross and Leopold Ross "One Block Further"
2. Atticus Ross and Leopold Ross "Punching Bag"
3. Bobby Krlic "Intervention"
4. Atticus Ross and Leopold Ross "Wild Moose"
5. Bobby Krlic "Pharmacies"
6. Atticus Ross and Leopold Ross "Mokhnenko"
7. Atticus Ross and Leopold Ross "Distance"
8. Bobby Krlic "Coursing"
9. Atticus Ross and Leopold Ross "Graves"
10. Bobby Krlic "The End"