Arca Announces Self-titled Album, Shares "Piel"

Arca Announces Self-titled Album, Shares "Piel"
Arca kept busy throughout 2016, hinting at an album titled Reverie, but instead releasing a free collection called Entranas in July. Now, the avant-garde electronic artist has confirmed full details for his next full-length album.
Simply titled Arca, the LP will arrive on April 7 through XL Recordings. It marks his third studio album, following 2014's Xen and 2015's Mutant.
The record arrives once again accompanied by artwork courtesy of Canadian-raised artist Jesse Kanda (who is about to release his own musical debut as doon kanda later this week). The cover art is pictured above.
Arca shared the following statement about the forthcoming album:
Here's my voice and all my guts: feel free to judge it. It's like a bullfight: you're watching emotional violence for pleasure. So this is a character who, almost as a mockery of the transaction, goes uncomfortably deep, into self-mutilation. 'You want gore? Here's gore.'
It sounds like there's some pretty brutally violent listening in store, which is only further insinuated by song titles like "Castration" and "Whip." The full Arca tracklisting can be found below, and keen observers will note that a track called "Reverie" made its way to the final cut — solving the mystery of the previously hinted at record of the same name.
You can get your first sampling of the new material by streaming "Piel." Despite Arca's warning message, the lead single is a sparse, slow-burning and eerily calm piece — and you can scroll past the tracklisting and hit play to hear it now.
1. Piel
2. Anoche
3. Saunter
4. Urchin
5. Reverie
6. Castration
7. Sin Rumbo
8. Coraje
9. Whip
10. Desafío
11. Fugaces
12. Miel
13. Child