Anticon's Themselves Return with CrownsDown, Drop New Mixtape

Anticon's Themselves Return with <i>CrownsDown</i>, Drop New Mixtape
After a six-year hiatus, Anticon alt-rap icons Themselves have announced they'll be returning with a new LP. Titled CrownsDown, the record is their first since 2002's The No Music, and will be released on October 20 via Anticon, as usual.

Themselves are composed of Adam "Doseone" Drucker and Jeffrey "Jel" Logan, a pair of collaborators who also work together in Subtle and 13 & God. According to a press release, CrownsDown sees the band "hold back nothing, welding brute skill to a concrete set of tracks that represents an essential ten commandments of rap."

To build up towards the record's release, the pair have also just issued theFREEhoudini, a 39-minute mixtape that includes appearances from Buck 65, Aesop Rock, Busdriver, Lionesque, Slug of Atmosphere, D-Styles, DJ Baku, Pedestrian, Sole, Serengeti, and Yoni Wolf and Odd Nosdam as cLOUDDEAD. Kind of a big deal, right? All it will cost you is your email address, as Anticon would like to add you to their mailing list. You can get the mix here.

No word yet if Themselves are planning any live shows but here is the tracklisting.


1. "Back II Burn"
2. "Oversleeping"
3. "The Mark"
4. "Gangster of Disbelief"
5. "Daxstrong"
6. "You Ain't It"
7. "Roman Is As Roman Does"
8. "Skinning the Drum"
9. "Deadcatclear II"
10. "Gold Teeth Will Roll"