Alela Diane Readies New Rough Trade LP

Alela Diane Readies New Rough Trade LP
Two years ago, Alela Diane let loose her sophomore record and first for venerable imprint Rough Trade, To Be Still. It was a tender, folky affair full of plucked acoustics, with Diane's rapturous vocal melodies and accompaniment bringing to mind both a back-porch jug band and a night at the symphony. Fans waiting for more will be glad to know that the singer-songwriter is ready to unleash another album, though it might not be what they expect from the performer.

A press release explains that the singer's new set Alela Diane & Wild Divine expands upon her previous records' folkish backdrop. "There is no banjo plucked and drenched in ghostly reverb, no violin wielded like fine china at your chest cavity," the statement reads. "Rather, there comes a time when artistic pursuits warrant a new approach -- one that reflects personal growth and its continued path -- and therein lies the root base of the expanded sounds of Alela Diane & Wild Divine."

The new album finds the songstress in a collaborative mood. Written on the road with husband and guitarist Tom Bevitori, the record will still touch on themes of "life, death and the unknown," but it has the bonus of a second opinion on the matter. The release points to tender moments "Long Way Down," and "Desire" as showcasing the new spirit in Diane's songwriting.

The album was recorded by Scott Lit (R.E.M., Nirvana, the Replacements), who ended a seven-year sabbatical to work with Diane and her band, Wild Divine, at his home studio in Venice, CA.

Alela Diane & Wild Divine will be released April 5 on Rough Trade.

Alela Diane & Wild Divine:

1. "To Begin"

2. "Elijah"

3. "Long Way Down"

4. "Suzanne"

5. "The Wind"

6. "Of Many Colors"

7. "Desire"

8. "Heartless Highway"

9. "White Horse"

10. "Rising Greatness"