Air Return with 'Le Voyage Dans La Lune' LP

Air Return with 'Le Voyage Dans La Lune' LP
Continuing their tradition of film-related work, from their the Virgin Suicides soundtrack to their recently commissioned score for a Cartier short, French electronic duo Air have announced another cinematic-inspired piece called Le Voyage Dans La Lune.

Inspired by Georges Méliès 1902 film of the same name, a press release explains that Air's next album, their first since 2009's Love 2, expands "the original musical themes beyond cinematic instrumentals." The record is set to be released February 7 through Astralwerks, and a limited-edition version of the album will come packaged with a colourized version of the original flick.

The film, whose title translates to "A Trip to the Moon," was inspired by Jules Verne's From the Earth to the Moon and H.G. Wells's The First Men in the Moon and is considered one of the earliest science fiction flicks.

It's hinted that the new disc could be a bit less electronic than past work, with band member Nicolas Godin exclaiming its "undoubtedly more organic than most of our past projects. We wanted it to sound 'handmade,' knocked together', a bit like Méliès' special effects. Everything is played live ... like Méliès' film, our soundtrack is nourished by living art."

On top of the group's work, the 11-song cycle also features contributions from Au Revoir Simone and Beach House singer Victoria Legrand. Check out the tracklisting below.

Le Voyage Dans La Lune:

1. "Astronomic Club"

2. "Seven Stars"

3. "Retour sur terre"

4. "Parade"

5. "Moon Fever"

6. "Sonic Armada"

7. "Who Am I Know?"

8. "Décollage"

9. "Cosmic Trip"

10. "Homme lune"

11. "Lava"