Prism Prize Announces Top 20 Finalists

Prism Prize Announces Top 20 Finalists
There's more at stake than ever before when it comes to this year's Prism Prize winnings, and the 20 finalists for the title of best Canadian music video of the year have just been announced.

Among those artists up for the 2017 prize are Grimes, BADBADNOTGOOD, Holy Fuck, Kaytranada, PUP (twice), July Talk, Tanya Tagaq and more.
The champion is selected by a jury that votes on the videos based on originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution. As previously reported, the winner of this year's prize will be gifted $15,000. The prize will be handed out during a screening and awards ceremony on May 14 at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto.
Last year's prize was awarded to Kalle Mattson for his "Avalanche" video, which was directed by Philip Sportel.
Prior to the 2017 winner's reveal, the list of nominees will be whittled down to a top 10 on March 28.
Right now, though, take in the 20-video long list of Prism Prize-nominated videos down below. Beyond that, watch a trailer spotlighting the long list clips and check out each video in full here on the Prism Prize website.
2017 Prism Prize Finalists:
A Tribe Called Red feat. Black Bear - "Stadium Pow Wow" (Director: Kevan Funk)
Aidan Knight - "What Light (Never Goes Dim)" (Director: FT Langley)
Andy Shauf - "The Magician" (Director: Winston Hacking)
BADBADNOTGOOD ft. Kaytranada - "Lavender" (Director: Fantavious Fritz)
Braids - "Companion" (Director: Kevan Funk)
Dilly Dally - "Snakehead" (Director: Scott Cudmore)
Grimes - "Kill V. Maim" (Directors: Claire and Mac Boucher)
Harrison ft. Clairmont the Second - "It's Okay, I Promise" (Director: Scott Cudmore)
Holy Fuck - "Tom Tom" (Director: Michael Leblanc)
Jazz Cartier - "Red Alert / 100 Roses" (Director: Jon Riera)
July Talk - "Picturing Love" (Director: Jared Raab)
Kaytranada - "Lite Spots" (Director: Martin C. Pariseau)
Lisa LeBlanc - "Gold Diggin' Hoedown" (Director: Didier Charette)
PUP - "DVP "(Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)
PUP - "Sleep in the Heat" (Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)
Ronley Teper's Lipliners - "Lucky and Finnegan" (Director: Davide Di Saro)
Somewhere Else ft. Majid Jordan - "Move Together" (Director: Helmi)
SonReal - "Can I Get A Witness" (Director: Peter Huang)
Tanya Tagaq - "Retribution" (Director: Brian Johnson)
Wintersleep - "Amerika" (Director: Scott Cudmore)

2017 PRISM PRIZE TOP 20 from Prism Prize on Vimeo.