Italian Musical Visionary Piero Umiliani Celebrated with New Archival Comp via Four Flies

The 2LP collection from Mr. Mah Nà Mah Nà will feature a series of rare and unreleased tracks
Italian Musical Visionary Piero Umiliani Celebrated with New Archival Comp via Four Flies
Thanks to a long string of reissues, recent years have been plenty kind to late Italian maestro Piero Umiliani, and for good reason. During the musical visionary's decades-long career, Mr. Mah Nà Mah Nà (yes, that "Mah Nà Mah Nà") carved paths in everything from jazz, psych and exotica to synth-fuelled electronic music and even hip-hop, with his work sounding as fascinating now as it did upon initial release so many years ago.

Helping bring Umiliani's work to modern listeners is now ever-busy reissue hub Four Flies, which will release an Umiliani-celebrating compilation called Studio Umiliani later this month.

Made of rare and previously unreleased tracks, the comp will arrive as a double-LP set on July 30. Along with four sides of wax, it will feature liner notes by Four Flies' Pierpaolo De Sanctis and a series of archive images.

Here's how Four Flies describe its latest release:

Studio Umiliani is a collection of sunken treasures and hidden beauties yet to be re-released, and of stunning unpublished works surprisingly unknown for quite some time. The project, born from the initial effort of Andrea Fabrizii, who has far and wide been exploring Umiliani's soundtracks before anyone else, led Four Flies research to seek for new unreleased recordings at the Maestro's archive.

A challenge that Pierpaolo De Sanctis from Four Flies Records accepted without hesitation — with the help of the Umiliani family. His two daughters Alessandra and Elisabetta Umiliani, true keepers of their father's memory, together with their husbands Francesco Argento and John Linkowski, and of course, Piero's wife Stefania Baffa, have been pivotal in compiling this exciting project.

The result is a cross-cutting portrait of Umiliani's activity during the golden years of his Sound Work Shop, the studio- laboratory where he has been playing, creating and experimenting with total freedom from 1969 to 1983.

The release will be limited to 500 copies, and you can get more info on the release here.

Along with the new Umiliani release, Four Flies will release 1970's Debito Coniugale from legendary Italian library combo I Marc 4, as well as Armando Trovajoli's La Famiglia Benvenuti, on July 29. You can learn more about those upcoming releases, as well as hear some sound samples, here.

Studio Umiliani:

A1. Avventura
A2. Missione Speciale
A3. Petra – Tema Jazz *
A4. Petra – Sottofondo Generico in Re minore *
A5. L'Invasione dei Folletti
B2. Non Mollare
B3. Commandos
B3. Il Burattinaio M8+M9 *
B4. Vita Cittadina
B5. C'è Un Fantasma Nel Mio Letto M47 *
B6. Pane Burro e Marmellata M52+M47 *
C1. Preistoria
C2. Ratko e L'orso – Tema Moog *
C3. Grand Canyon *
C4. C'è Un Fantasma Nel Mio Letto M68 *
C5. Le Cascate di Iguaçù
D1. Musica Nell'aria
D2. Risaie
D3. Millenni
D4. Ritrovarsi

* previously unreleased on every format