Vancouver's Movieland and PUPS Team Up for Split Tape on Green Burrito Records

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 27, 2013

In the last couple of months, we've seen a string of stellar cassette releases from Vancouver label Green Burrito Records, and we will have another before the month is out. On March 29, the label will release a split tape feature local indie pop acts PUPS and Movieland.

Movieland features members of Aunts & Uncles, Kidnap Kids and Thee Ahs, while PUPS is a trio whose membership includes Rose Melberg. This joint release brings together debut EPs both bands.

Movieland's half is a seven-song collection called Blows Up. You can hear the title track song "Band Hands" at the bottom of the page. PUPS' side, meanwhile, is self-titled and includes six tracks. Their cut "Pop Song" is also below. These will be presented as "This" and "That" sides rather than traditional A and B sides, and come packaged with a double cover that buyers can flip between.

The bands will release the split tape with a joint show at the Astoria on release day. This March 29 show will also feature the Courtneys and Lié.

Movieland - Blows Up:

1. Bad Hands
2. Sea Legs
3. Craigslist
4. 1-2-3-4 Get Fucked
5. Politics of Ecology
6. A Blast!
7. He Cares More (If You Forget About Me)


1. PEI
2. Take Your Shoes Off
3. Cement
4. Pop Song
5. Rooms on Fire
6. Break Up

Latest Coverage