The Chemical Brothers Get St. Vincent, Beck, Q-Tip for 'Born in the Echoes'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Apr 23, 2015

Late last year, long-lasting electronic music duo the Chemical Brothers had explained that their upcoming full-length would feature a few guest vocalists. Now, they've properly announced the newly crowned Born in Echoes and revealed the heavy-hitting helpers include art rock A-lister St. Vincent, Beck and A Tribe Called Quest hero Q-Tip.

The album is officially set to arrive July 17 via Virgin/Universal Music Canada and features 11 new tunes cooked up by founding chemists Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons. Other artists appearing on the LP include Cate Le Bon and Ali Love. You can see the detailed tracklist below and expect "Go," featuring Q-Tip, to arrive as a single on May 4.

Today (April 23), the band premiered album opener "Sometimes I Feel So Deserted" on Annie Mac's BBC Radio 1 program. Despite its hollowed-out song title, the track is rife with fractured thuds and elaborate sine wave arrangements. You can check it out in a new music video down below.

Born in Echoes is the first album from the Chemical Brothers since 2010's Further. As previously reported, Rowlands said that he and Simons were searching for new ways to present the band, while maintaining a signature Chemical Brothers feel.

"The most important feature of the album is that it connects with us emotionally in some way," Rowlands had said in 2014. "We hope for finding a new way to make you feel. We dream of new sounds and different frames. We have worked with some guest singers but mostly the album is pure Chemical Brothers."

Born in Echoes:

1. Sometimes I Feel So Deserted

2. Go (ft. Q-Tip)

3. Under Neon Lights (ft. St. Vincent)

4. EML Ritual (ft. Ali Love)
5. I'll See You There 

6. Just Bang 

7. Reflexion 

8. Taste Of Honey

9. Born In The Echoes (ft. Cate Le Bon)

10. Radiate 

11. Wide Open (ft. Beck)


Latest Coverage