Zombi Get Back to "Prog-Inclined Rock Roots" for 'Shape Shift'

Zombi Get Back to 'Prog-Inclined Rock Roots' for 'Shape Shift'
Coming off the recent re-release of Zombi's Anthology, the Pittsburgh instrumental outfit have revealed they'll have a full-length of brand new material in stores by the fall. The project's Shape Shift contorts its way into our ear canals October 16 via Relapse Records.

While the last couple of Zombi LPs took the band into more electronic-minded pastures, a press release explains that the upcoming record finds the duo of Steve Moore and A.E. Paterra making a return to their "prog-inclined rock roots." This is said to have been the outcome of the band getting back out on the road in 2013 following years of studio-only activity.

"It's a rock record — think of it as a follow-up to [2006's] Surface to Air," Moore said in a statement. "There are no techno jams or symphonic prog fantasies. No solo track interludes. We have officially moved from 'studio project' mode back into 'live band' mode."

The set is said to once again highlight a '70s horror soundtrack-indebted sound heavy on bass guitar, drums, and analog synthesizers, with touchstones including composers Fabio Frizzi and John Carpenter, as well as tourmates Goblin.

You'll find Shape Shift's first crushing piece of prog-rock zaniness, "Pillars of the Dawn," down below.

While Zombi are apparently touting more live show-appropriate sounds on their upcoming album, Moore has still got his atmospheric film score career on the go. A release has been scheduled for his work on Belgian horror film Cub. The soundtrack likewise arrives October 16 through Relapse.

Shape Shift:

1. Pillars of the Dawn
2. Total Breakthrough
3. Mission Creep
4. Interstellar Package
5. Diffraction Zone
6. Toroidal Vortices
7. Shadow Hand
8. Metaverse
9. Siberia II

Cub: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

1. Intro & Credits
2. Casselroque
3. Arrival
4. The Treehouse
5. Werewolf
6. The Truck
7. The Hunt
8. Sam vs Kai
9. Finale