Young Widows Go In and Out of Lightness on New Album

Young Widows Go <i>In and Out of Lightness</i> on New Album
Forming in the wake of their previous band Breather Resist, Young Widows have been crushing eardrums with their noise-rock-meets-post-punk assault since 2006. In 2008, their sophomore album Old Wounds established them as a force to be reckoned with, and in 2011 they will follow it up with their third full-length release.

The record is called In and Out of Lightness and was recorded in a funeral home in Louisville, KY with the help of My Morning Jacket producer Kevin Ratterman. According to a press release, "The new record finds them digging much deeper and further back in rock's darkened corners of subcultural grime for inspiration. The nine sprawling post-punk blasts contained within shine cracks of light through pitch black neo-noir fever dreams, proving Young Widows are a more sinister and thought-provoking beast than ever before."

In and Out of Lightness will be released on April 12 via Temporary Residence Ltd. Album track "Future Heart" can be downloaded here courtesy of Stereogum.

In and Out of Lightness:

 1. "Young Rivers"
2. "Future Heart"
3. "In and Out of Lightness"
4. "Lean on the Ghost"
5. "The Muted Man"
6. "Right in the End"
7. "Miss Tambourine Wrist"
8. "White Golden Rings"
9. "In and Out of Youth"