Young Magic Announce 'Breathing Statues,' Share New Track

Young Magic Announce 'Breathing Statues,' Share New Track
Last week, electronically poppy Brooklynites Young Magic shared a cryptic trailer that ended with the words "Breathing Statues: May 6." Now, all has been revealed, as this has been confirmed as the title and release date of their sophomore album, which will arrive through Hi-Scores Recording Library.

Recording took place in the duo's New York home studio, with additional parts crafted while touring in Morocco, France, Czech Republic, Australia and Iceland. According to a press release, the results mix Melati Malay's airy vocals with "the claustrophobic doom of [Isaac] Emmanuel's warped percussion," plus harp improvisations from a guest performer.

Breathing Statues includes 10 songs in all, on which the band "[rein] in the melodic chaos on their previous works." The tracklist is below and the cover artwork is above.

At the bottom of this page, hear the eerily atmospheric album cut "Fall In."

Breathing Statues:

1. One
2. Fall In
3. Foxglove
4. Something in the Water
5. Ageless
6. Cobra
7. Holographic
8. Mythnomer
9. Waiting for the Ground to Open
10. Captcha