YDI Celebrated with New Anthology via Southern Lord

YDI Celebrated with New Anthology via Southern Lord
Southern Lord's quest to bring tragically long-forgotten hardcore bands back to the forefront has already given us archival releases from West Coast units Brotherhood, Excel and BL'AST, but the label is now setting its sights eastward for a similar collection from Philadelphia outfit YDI.

Though the street date is still TBA, the band's Complete Discography is due this April. Tracking YDI's (pronounced "why die") brief recording career from 1983 to 1985, the collection examines the band's evolution from punk into more metal-minded material.

It starts off with a 15-song demo recording from 1983, with 10 of those songs being re-recorded for the band's debut 7-inch A Place in the Sun, which is described in a press release as a "blast of frantic American hardcore fury." Also issued that year was the Get Off My Back - We're Doing It Ourselves compilation LP, which was kicked off by YDI's "Enemy for Life" and "I Killed My Family," and featured other acts including McRad, Blunder Boys and Seeds of Terror.

Lineup changes reflected YDI's altered direction towards the "filthy, metallic, damaged punk" of their lone LP, 1985's Black Dust. A previously unreleased track from those sessions called "Evil" closes out the collection.

The upcoming Complete Discography also comes with a 10"x10" full colour photo book containing era-appropriate photos of the band. You'll find the tracklisting info down below.

Complete Discography:

1. Out For Blood
2. Not Shit
3. Rizzo's Coming Back
4. Another Day
5. Zombie Youth
6. Mad At The World
7. Friends
8. Categorized
9. Why Die ?
10. 1983
11. True Believer
12. Snarling Hate
13. I Killed My Family
14. Get Up And Fight
15. 8th Man
16. Not Shit
17. 1983
18. Friends
19. Mad At The World
20. Out For Blood
21. Categorized
22. Another Day
23. Get Up And Fight / Zombie Youth
24. Why Die ?
25. Enemy For Life
26. I Killed My Family
27. Not Without A Fight
28. Get Out
29. Soylent Green
30. Violently Green
31. Bloodletting
32. Haunted House
33. Dying Day
34. Murder Is So Sweet
35. In Ignorance
36. My Hell
37. Black Dust
38. Evil *
* previously unreleased