YACHT Sign with DFA, Release New Single

YACHT Sign with DFA, Release New Single
Formerly one half of the Blow, then a solo project, and now a duo with long-time girlfriend Claire Evans, Jona Bechtolt’s YACHT project is a shape-shifting beast that combines bedroom electronics with uplifting lyrics and enthusiastic glee. If you need proof, you don’t need to look any further than the duo’s new single, "Summer Song.”

Packed with disco synths, thumping beats and grin-inducing lyrics quite literally about how awesome summer is, the track caught the attention of DFA/LCD Soundsystem mastermind James Murphy, who decided to sign them and release the song as a four-track single. Better yet, the label promises the release of See Mystery Lights, a brand new YACHT album, in early 2009.

The duo recently posted a music video for "Summer Song,” and as Dan at the Fader blog quickly pointed out, the song is a shot-by-shot remake of the John Cusack cult hit Tapeheads. (Both videos are below.)

Summer Song tracklisting:

1. "Summer Song"
2. "I'm In Love With A Ripper (Party Mix)"
3. "It's Boring/You Can Live Anywhere You Want"
4. "So Past All 'em (Saliva In The Club Remix)"*

* digital version only

Tapeheads clip:

YACHT "Summer Song”