The XX, Wild Beasts, Dizzee Rascal Make Mercury Prize Shortlist

The XX, Wild Beasts, Dizzee Rascal Make Mercury Prize Shortlist
&hlLike Canada's Polaris Music Prize, Britain's Barclaycard Mercury Prize is awarded annually to the best album of the year, based solely on musical quality. Today (July 20), in a ceremony at the Hospital Club in London, 12 of the best British albums of the year were revealed as the 2010 shortlist.

Included on this year's shortlist were Exclaim! faves the XX, Wild Beasts and Dizzee Rascal, who is making his third appearance on the shortlist. In 2003, he won the prize for his debut Boy in Da Corner, and was nominated again in 2007 for Maths + English.

As per usual, the list included its share of left-fielders, including piano-jazz outfit the Kit Downes Trio and Irish quintet the Villagers.

As we reported, newcomer Speech Debelle won the prize last year before ditching her label over poor sales. Typically, though, winners see massive boosts in sales, as seen in the cases of past winners Elbow, Antony and the Johnsons, and Talvin Singh.

The winner of the 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize will be announced from an awards show on September 7. The complete list of shortlist nominees is below:

Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist:

Biffy Clyro - Only Revolutions
Corinne Bailey Rae - The Sea
Dizzee Rascal - Tongue N' Cheek
Kit Downes Trio - Golden
Foals - Total Life Forever
I Am Kloot - Sky At Night
Laura Marling - I Speak Because I Can
Mumford And Sons - Sigh No More
Paul Weller - Wake Up The Nation
Villagers - Becoming A Jackal
Wild Beasts - Two Dancers
The XX - XX