Xiu Xiu's Jamie Stewart Forms Band with Shearwater's Jonathan Meiburg

Xiu Xiu's Jamie Stewart Forms Band with Shearwater's Jonathan Meiburg
Xiu Xiu mastermind Jamie Stewart is in an especially gloomy mood as of late: just see Xiu Xiu's most recent album, which was sold with a T-shirt decorated with real blood. Now, Stewart has teamed up with Shearwater frontman Jonathan Meiburg to form the morbidly named Blue Water White Death.

The pair have announced that their self-titled debut album will be released on October 12 via Graveface. According to a press release, the aquatically themed album has "three distinct modes at play -clean, even tones and the nonchalant picking of acoustic guitars that recall life on the open sea, notes and words paced like breaststrokes on the journey to the depths and finally, jarring mysterious noises meshed with vocals that echo the isolated, garbled quantities of the inside of a diver's mask."

This involves "perilously balancing beauty and horror with the absurd." There's no samples from the collection currently available, but the description makes it sound a lot like Xiu Xiu. The eight-song album was written and recorded in just a week, with help from producer John Congleton (the Polyphonic Spree, Modest Mouse, Black Mountain).

Blue Water White Death takes its name from a 1971 documentary about sharks. See the album tracklist below (we can't wait to hear the one about Juggalos).

Blue Water White Death:

1. "This is the Scrunchyface of My Dreams"

2. "Song for the Greater Jihad"

3. "Grunt Tube"

4. "Nerd Future"

5. "The End of Sex"

6. "Death for Christmas"

7. "Gall"

8. "Rendering the Juggalos"