The Wu-Tang Clan Treat 'The W' to Vinyl Reissue

The Wu-Tang Clan Treat 'The W' to Vinyl Reissue
The Wu-Tang killer bees having been swarming like crazy lately, with the beloved hip-hop group having announced that yet another one of their LPs is getting the reissue treatment. Just weeks after learning their sophomore set Wu-Tang Forever was making its return to vinyl, it's been revealed that a new pressing of the Clan's 2000 follow-up The W is likewise ready to hit turntables.

Music on Vinyl will have the LP, pressed onto 180-gram audiophile vinyl, in stores July 7, marking the first time the album has been available on wax in close to 15 years. Like Wu-Tang Forever, the double LP will be delivered on traditional black wax, as well as an initial run of 1,500 on "crystal clear" vinyl.

A press release notes that the band's third LP featured "a more rugged, less polished sound" that had producer/rapper the RZA blending soul-based source material and "tough beats" with "paranoid kung fu samples and bizarre sounds." Steered by hit single "Gravel Pit," the record features more rhymes from Wu regulars like Method Man, Raekwon, GZA, Cappadonna, Ol' Dirty Bastard and more, but the record also had its fair share of features. Ghostface Killah's tearful "I Can't Go to Sleep" featured Isaac Hayes, having sampled the soul star's "Walk on By," while other guests included Meth's smoking partner Redman, Busta Rhymes, Nas, Snoop Dogg and more.

In addition to the re-releases, the Wu-Tang Clan have plans to issue their long-gestating A Better Tomorrow sometime this year. They also have another album called Once Upon a Time in Shaolin coming out, although it will be available in an edition of just one.

On top of all the releases, the group have Canadian shows coming up later this summer. You'll find the show specifics over here.

Side A:

1. Intro (Shaolin Finger Jab) / Chamber Music
2. Careful (Click, Click)
3. Hollow Bones

Side B:

1. Redbull (ft. Redman)
2. One Blood Under W (ft. Junior Reid)
3. Conditioner (ft. Snoop Dogg)

Side C:

1. Protect Ya Neck (The Jump Off)
2. Let My Niggas Live (ft. Nas)
3. I Can't Go To Sleep (ft. Isaac Hayes)

Side D:

1. Do You Really (Thang, Thang)
2. The Monument (ft. Busta Rhymes)
3. Gravel Pit
4. Jah World