Wu-Tang Clan Members Gather Once Again for Chamber Music

Wu-Tang Clan Members Gather Once Again for <i>Chamber Music</i>
While their long-awaited 8 Diagrams record was pretty disappointing when it was finally released in 2007, any new Wu-Tang Clan material is always something to get excited about. That's why it's such great news that the legendary-times-a-million rap crew are coming together to release Chamber Music on June 30 courtesy of E1/Universal.

It's not an official Wu album, per se, but Chamber Music is a collaborative effort that features many a Wu Clansman. The record's backing tracks were created by live hip hop/soul band the Revelations. Those tracks were then edited and supervised by Wu legend RZA.

Besides RZA, who is literally all over the record, Chamber Music also features guest spots from Wu-Tang members Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, Inspectah Deck, U-God and Masta Killa, as well as other New York rappers like Sean Price, Masta Ace, Cormega, M.O.P. and Kool G Rap.

In a video statement, RZA described the album, saying:

This album has a very live element of today's musicians playing the vibe of Wu-Tang, know what I mean? The vibe we would normally sample, the vibe of things that we would accumulate through old soul songs, jazz songs, kung fu movies whatever, now you've got musicians that can play this vibe with Wu-Tang MC's rapping over it.

The goal of this album is definitely paying homage to our early sound. In the old days, we had to sample and find snares and things like that or chord changes just to make a beat. Now, this is being done it with a band. A lot of times, you hear rappers over a live band and that loses the hip-hop because a lot of those bands from the old days wasn't from the hip-hop generation. On this album, we make it sound like it was in the
36 Chambers era. To me, what also adds to this album, you've got the Wu-Tang MCs but you also got your other favorite MCs from that era like Havoc, Cormega and others. This album can be played with a live band and it will sound BIG.

Chamber Music:

1. "Redemption"
2. "Kill Too Hard" (featuring Inspectah Deck, U-God and Masta Ace)
3. "The Abbot" (featuring RZA)
4. "Harbor Masters" (featuring Ghostface Killah, AZ and Inspectah Deck)
5. "Sheep State" (featuring RZA)
6. "Radiant Jewels" (featuring Raekwon, Cormega and Sean Price)
7. "Supreme Architecture" (featuring RZA)
8. "Evil Deeds" (featuring Ghostface Killah, RZA and Havoc)
9. "Wise Men" (featuring RZA)
10. "I Wish You Were Here" (featuring Ghostface Killah and Tre Williams)
11. "Fatal Hesitation"
12. "Ill Figures" (featuring Raekwon, M.O.P. and Kool G Rap)
13. "Free Like ODB" (featuring RZA)
14. "Sound The Horns" (featuring Inspectah Deck, Sadat X and U-God)
15. "Enlightened Statues" (featuring RZA)
16. "NYC Crack" (featuring RZA)
17. "One Last Question..."