Women Sign To Jagjaguwar For U.S. Release

Women Sign To Jagjaguwar For U.S. Release
It’s no secret Jagjaguwar has a thing for Canadians. Since the label laid down roots in Bloomington, Indiana, over a decade ago, it has swooped up Black Mountain, Sunset Rubdown, Besnard Lakes, Julie Doiron and Ladyhawk, as well as a few more. And now it has added another to the list: Calgary’s Women.

On October 7, Jagjaguwar will release Women’s self-titled debut in the U.S., with plans to do the same in January 2009 in the UK. As you may recall, the scrappy, lo-fi-loving quartet released the album in Canada back in July via Calgary imprint Flemish Eye, also the home of Women’s sound guru Chad VanGaalen. The fellow Calgarian recorded the album in his basement/studio and lent the band his sweet collection of ghettoblasters and old machines for the recording.

According to Jagjaguwar, Women are in the midst of preparing to tour Canada, the U.S. and Europe in support of the album throughout the rest of the year, and those tour dates are expected to be announced shortly.

Here is the tracklisting for Women’s self-titled album:

1. "Cameras”
2. "Lawncare”
3. "Woodbine”
4. "Black Rice”
5. "Sag Harbor Bridge”
6. "Group Transport Hall”
7. "Shaking Hand”
8. "Upstairs”
9. "January 8th”
10. "Flashlights”