Willie Nelson Launches Archival Albums Series with 'December Day'

Willie Nelson Launches Archival Albums Series with 'December Day'
Still-kickin' country music octogenarian Willie Nelson has released a hell of a lot of music throughout his career, but he's apparently got even more sitting in the vaults. These unheard albums will be unearthed for the series Willie's Stash.

First up is December Day: Willie's Stash Vol. 1, a team-up with Sister Bobbie (a.k.a. Willie's real-life sister Bobbie Nelson). It's due out on December 2 through Legacy Recordings.

Of course, the two have a long history of playing music together, and Bobbie is part of Willie's band the Family. December Day is said to be made up of "intimate recordings" of the siblings performing 18 of their favourite tunes. This includes new versions of some of Willie's classic originals, plus some covers.

The album features other members of the Family, although the style is apparently modelled after Willie and Bobbie's private jam sessions. It was produced by Buddy Cannon and recorded at Austin's Pedernales Recordings Studio with Steve Chadie.

We can expect this to be followed by more archival releases from Willie's Stash, all curated by the man himself.

December Day: Willie's Stash Vol. 1:

1. Alexander's Ragtime Band (Irving Berlin)

2. Permanently Lonely
3. What'll I Do (Irving Berlin)
4. Summer of Roses / December Day
5. Nuages (Django Reinhardt)
6. Mona Lisa (Ray Evans & Jay Livingston)
7. I Don't Know Where I Am Today
8. Amnesia
9. Who'll Buy My Memories
10. The Anniversary Song (Al Jolson & Saul Chaplin)
11. Laws of Nature
12. Walkin'
13. Always (Irving Berlin)
14. I Let My Mind Wander
15. Is the Better Part Over
16. My Own Peculiar Way
17. Sad Songs and Waltzes
18. Ou-es tu, mon amour  (Emile Stern & Henri LeMarchand) / I Never Cared for You