Whitney Rose Unveils 'Heartbreaker of the Year,' Shares New Track

Whitney Rose Unveils 'Heartbreaker of the Year,' Shares New Track
Following much anticipation, Charlottetown country darling Whitney Rose has announced plans for her sophomore full-length effort Heartbreaker of the Year.
The album will arrive on April 21 via Cameron House Records, following up her 2012 self-titled debut.
Back then, our reviewer noted that she echoed artists like Kitty Wells and Patsy Cline, with a voice that "instantly takes you back to a golden age of country music." According to a press release, that old-timey charm continues to come across on the new material, making "no attempt to emulate the repetitious sounds on commercial country radio."
The new album was made over four days at Revolution Recording in Toronto, and was produced by Raul Malo of Rose's former tourmates the Mavericks. Fellow Mavericks Jay Weaver, Jerry Dale McFadden and Paul Deakin all play on the album, as do Devin Cuddy Band member Nichol Robertson, Burke Carroll and Drew Jurecka. It was mixed at Capitol Records by Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Keith Richards, Rod Stewart).
"It was a perfect storm," Rose said in a statement. "Raul and his band the Mavericks had a show on PEI and their next show was in Ottawa five days later. We managed to bring a few of them into the studio for four days to cut ten tracks. Excepting Raul, none of the guys had heard my demos so the recording process was entirely spontaneous. It was a magical musical experience. I don't even care how cliche of a statement that is. It just was. Witnessing what Raul and the band did with these songs I had written was incredibly humbling and educational. He is a musical monster."
In addition to the album announcement, Rose has shared a brand new track called "Little Piece of You," which Exclaim.ca is pleased to premiere. A timely, romantic number, it's also one that's looking ahead to warmer days.
"Being so close to Valentine's Day, a light hearted, fun, love song seemed like an appropriate choice," said Rose about the latest single. "I also like the summery vibe to the song. It's a nice antidote for the cold February winds as we inch toward spring."
You can see the full tracklisting for Heartbreaker of the Year below, and if you scroll past that, you can give "Little Piece of You" a spin.
Heartbreaker of the Year:
1. Little Piece Of You
2. My First Rodeo
3. The Last Party
4. Only Just A Dream
5. Heartbreaker Of The Year
6. Be My Baby
7. The Devil Borrowed My Boots
8. Ain't It Wise
9. Lasso
10. Tear In My Beer