The Weakerthans Divulge Details of Forthcoming Live Album

The Weakerthans Divulge Details of Forthcoming Live Album
When back in January we heard Winnipeg indie rockers the Weakerthans were releasing a live album/concert film, we naturally got all excited. Well, here's plenty more reason to get plenty more excited: the CD/DVD has both a tracklist and a slew of new details to whet the appetites of indie kids across the Great White North and beyond.

According to the band's press release, Live at the Burton Cummings Theatre, which is coming out March 23 via Anti- Records, will offer "a jubilant testament to the Winnipeg band's considerable creative powers as both literary-minded songwriters and charismatic live performers."

It also explains the details of the concert film: "The live DVD was recorded in April of 2009 as the band toured in support of their triumphant album Reunion Tour with an expanded line-up featuring trumpet, violin and female vocals, playing songs from all four acclaimed releases in front of an adoring and enthusiastic hometown crowd."

And, in case you Weakerthans diehards weren't yet satisfied that this was wholly a labour of love on the band's part, the cover is even painted by bassist Greg Smith (see above).

Live at the Burton Cummings Theatre CD/DVD:

1. "Everything Must Go"
2. "Tournament of Hearts"
3. "Our Retired Explorer (Dines with Michel Foucault in Paris in 1969)"
4. "Night Windows"
5. "Reconstruction Site"
6. "Aside"
7. "Civil Twilight"
8. "Bigfoot"
9. "Plea from a Cat Named Virtute"
10. "The Reasons"
11. "Sun in an Empty Room"
12. "Left and Leaving"
13. "Wellington's Wednesdays"
14. "Benediction"
15. "Manifest"
16. "One Great City!"
17. "This is a Fire Door Never Leave Open"
18. "Virtute the Cat Explains Her Departure"