The War on Drugs Announce New LP

The War on Drugs Announce New LP
Though rootsy Philadelphia rockers the War on Drugs released the eight-song EP Future Weather last year, it's been quite some time since they let loose a proper full-length. Since 2008's Wagonwheel Blues, guitarist Kurt Vile left to focus on his successful solo career, but the war wages on. Earlier this year, the band took to the road with Destroyer, and now the group are ready to release their sophomore set.

This summer, the troupe will unveil Slave Ambient. The record was recorded in Asheville, NC, as well as at frontman Adam Granduciel's home studio setup in Philadelphia. Over here, you can hear first single "Baby Missiles," a blissed-out yet bumpin' rocker full of spritely organs and harmonica blasts that brings to mind '80s-era baseball stadium bangers, à la Dire Straits' "Walk of Life."

Secretly Canadian will issue the album on August 16. Check out the tracklisting below and the cover above.

Slave Ambient:

1. "Best Night"

2. "Brothers"

3. "I Was There"

4. "Your Love Is Calling My Name"

5. "The Animator"

6. "Come to the City"

7. "Come For It"

8. "It's Your Destiny"

9. "City Reprise #12"

10. "Baby Missiles"

11. "Original Slave"

12. "Black Water Falls"