Various For a Decade of Sin: 11 Years of Bloodshot Records

Although it wasn’t in at the beginning of the alt-country revolution, Bloodshot Records has arguably come to best represent the spirit of the movement — and put out more significant releases — than any other label. It is because of Bloodshot’s mandate to support the original rebel attitude of country music that the world has heard artists like the Waco Brothers, Kelly Hogan and the Meat Purveyors, as well as seen new life breathed into the careers of Ryan Adams, Graham Parker and the Bottle Rockets. Many of them pay tribute to the proud Chicago institution on this double-disc set of mostly exclusive tracks, along with a few notable surprise guests. Of these, the re-appearance of Sixteen Horsepower with a cover of Rainer Ptacek’s "De-Railed” is most welcome, as is My Morning Jacket’s cover of George Harrison’s "Behind That Locked Door.” There’s also some CanCon with Matt Mays & El Torpedo contributing "The Plan” from their self-titled album, and the Sadies backing up Andre Williams on a great live take of "Shake Your Tailfeather” from 1999. In all, For a Decade of Sin is a fine tribute to a label that has helped maintain strong ties between country and rock, which will undoubtedly continue to inspire future generations. (Bloodshot)