Various Fifteen Years: Ministry of Sound

In celebration of their 15-year anniversary, Ministry of Sound — i.e. the "House of House” — has released a triple disc compilation documenting the evolution of the global house scene. This retrospective journey is organised into five years spans, where each DJ encapsulates the sound of their five-year residency. The first disc is mixed by CJ Mackintosh (resident 1991 to ’96), DJ who can boast a record-long set at the club standing at 12 and a half hours. Predominantly, you can find uplifting diva vocals combined with the sounds of early house: hand claps and cowbells. Some notable artists on the first disc are CeCe Peniston, Everything But the Girl, Cajmere and Masters at Work. The second album mixed by Jazzy M (resident from 1996 to 2001), the DJ that played the first record ever at MoS back in 1991, includes rave anthems of the mid- to late ’90s, tracks with a distinct influence of Daft Punk. For instance, this mix begins with Stardust’s "Music Sounds Better with You” and moves into Armand Van Helden’s "The Funk Phenomena.” The third disc is mixed by Marc Hughes, the current resident DJ since 2001. This mix offers more recent soundscapes from the world of house, dabbling into electro and tech-house, and using tracks with far less vocals. Names on this mix include Gus Gus, Chicken Lips, Roman Flugel and Alter Ego. Happy 15th Ministry of Sound. (Ministry of Sound)