Various Antifolk Vol.1

The busker on the street outside your office may just be a part of the burgeoning "anti-folk” scene originating from New York City. Championed by the two members of the Moldy Peaches (Adam Green and Kimya Dawson), the scene has not only seen the pair picked up by Rough Trade Records, but has also done the same for their pal Jeffrey Lewis and also created enough of a stir to release this compilation. Antifolk Vol.1 is the essential anti-folk compilation. Made up of friends and associates of Green and Dawson, the majority of these artists have not been heard outside of their local community. Containing 20 tracks, including songs by Lewis, Green and Dawson (separately), the record shows just how talented the occupants are, with song titles like "You Don’t Have To Be A Scientist To Do Experiments On Your Own Heart” and "Smokescreen A Capella Techno Blues.” While some of it may just be strange performance art, the majority of the tracks are quite good and insightful, showing the types of imaginations these songwriters have. This escalating anti-folk scene is definitely worth capturing, and what Green and Dawson have delivered is a near-perfect encapsulation. (Rough Trade)