Vancouver's Green Hour Band Team Up with Scratch Records for Coming of Clockwise

Vancouver's Green Hour Band Team Up with Scratch Records for <i>Coming of Clockwise</i>
The Green Hour Band relocated from Vancouver to England back in 2008, but the Canada-born psych rockers haven't cut all ties with their home and native land. On August 17, Vancouver's Scratch Records will release the band's second LP, Coming of Clockwise.

According to a press release, "The band has spared no expense for the BIG sound they've been searching for since their inception." This meant hiring John Congleton to mix the record, who previously worked on Black Mountain's In the Future, as well as with artists such as Modest Mouse and R. Kelly.

Coming of Clockwise also features B.C.V.C.O. synth wizard Josh Stevenson (ex-Pink Mountaintops, ex-Jackie-O Motherfucker), who "invokes early Brian Eno and Dark Side of the Moon-era Pink Floyd on the record."

Fans of the band's first release can expect more of the gritty psych rock madness of the debut with an increased emphasis on songcraft and catchy hooks. You can preview four of the album's nine tracks over at MySpace.

Check out the tracklist below and look above to see the tripped-out artwork, which was painted by former Frank Zappa designer Donald Roller Wilson.

In England the album will come out via the band's own Kingdom Records. Expect a European tour to be announced for the summer/fall.

Coming of Clockwise:

1. "Sir Reality Blues"
2. "You May Descend"
3. "Angel in My Suitcase"
4. "Countdown"
5. "Flash Freaks"
6. "Chains of Passivity"
7. "Eastern Skin"
8. "The Big Surprise"
9. "Vision and Prayer"