Vancouver's Bear Mountain Sign with Last Gang Records for Debut Album

Vancouver's Bear Mountain Sign with Last Gang Records for Debut Album
Vancouver dance-party starters Bear Mountain are still relative newcomers in the world of Canadian music, but they will be making a name for themselves this spring by releasing their debut album and hitting the road in Canada. XO will be getting a wide release on May 21 via Last Gang Records after coming out independently last year.

Bear Mountain was founded by Ian Bevis, who works in collaboration with longtime friend Kyle Statham. Their debut disc reportedly blends electronic programming with live instrumentation, and a press release promises, "From lush synth sounds and chopped vocal samples, to tropical drum beats and house-drenched kicks, the album manages to capture the feeling of the infinite and the impossible, all rolled into one."

Bevis said in a statement, "A friend of ours best described our sound as 'a hopeful utopian future.' While we do put a range of emotions in our music, it's important that it always comes from the heart. We want the listener to feel that and to go to those places with us."

Check out the album's opening cut, "Two Step," at the bottom of this page.

XO's tracklist is below. Scroll past that to check out the band's upcoming Canadian tour schedule, which includes opening gigs with Bloc Party, along with showcase and festival dates.

Some of these songs were released back in 2011 on Live at the China Cloud.


1. Two Step
2. Congo
3. Survive
4. Faded
5. Swim
6. Sing
7. See You Through

Tour dates:

6/5 Quebec City, QC - Imperial De Quebec *
6/6 Montreal, QC - Metropolis *
6/14 Toronto, ON - Wrongbar (NXNE Last Gang Showcase)
6/19 Calgary, AB - Hi Fi @ Sled Island Festival
8/8-10 Squamish, BC - Squamish Valley Music Festival

* with Bloc Party