Underworld's Karl Hyde Goes Solo for 'Edgeland'

Underworld's Karl Hyde Goes Solo for 'Edgeland'
Karl Hyde has been creating electronic music as a member of Underworld since the '80s, but he will go it alone this spring with his first ever solo album. Entitled Edgeland, it's due out on April 22 in the UK on Universal.

The album's nine songs were recorded over the past year with Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, Frightened Rabbit), who previously played with Hyde in Brian Eno's Pure Scenius project. The slow and meditative album track "Cut Clouds" is streaming at the bottom of the page.

Hyde explained the album in a press release with the following statement: "For over twenty years, my love of cityscapes has grown and grown. The beauty of decay, tyre marks, crude graffiti, industrial noise, overheard conversations, epidemics of coffee bars and nights on the back seat being driven through cities by drivers who never sleep. A celebration of people's idiosyncrasies, mapping out my journeys with the stories they tell, edgelands where city meets scrub, where ragged ponies grazed annexed fields and the air smells chemical."

Pre-order Edgeland from Underworld's shop. It's available on CD or as a CD/DVD bundle. It will also reportedly be made available on vinyl.

Hyde is currently rehearsing for shows with a new backing band, who will make their debut at Tokyo's SonarSound festival on April 7.

Thanks to Fact for the tip.


1. The Night Slips Us Smiling Underneath Its Dress

2. Your Perfume Was the Best Thing

3. Angel Café

4. Cut Clouds

5. The Boy with the Jigsaw Puzzle Fingers
6. Slummin' It for the Weekend

7. Shoulda Been a Painter

8. Shadow Boy

9. Sleepless