tUnE-yArDs' Nate Brenner Branches Out as Naytronix

tUnE-yArDs' Nate Brenner Branches Out as Naytronix
Oakland, CA's Nate Brenner may have a choice spot playing bass in experimental indie R&B outfit tUnE-yArDs, but the musician will flex his songwriting skills on an upcoming solo album under the name Naytronix. The performer's debut LP Dirty Glow will be issued October 9 via Plug Research.

A press release explains that Brenner, who also performs in beep!, recorded 20 songs for his first Naytronix effort, but whittled the tracklist down to 11 tunes that merge "fashionable grooves with found sounds and homemade instruments to unsettling yet familiar effect." Touchstones include Charles Mingus, William Onyeabor and Sly Stone.

While the album arrives in the fall, the artist said in a statement that the collection is intended as a summertime record to be played "while driving or hanging out with friends," with highlights said to include the dance jam "Robotic," and the groove-laden opener "Hangin' Out." The collection is said to feature a full and funky sound, marrying Brenner's bass work with a horn selection made up of friends from the Bay Area.

"I want to use the full spectrum of available sound timbres including electric, synthetic and acoustic," Brenner said. "I like to use non-musical sounds as well."

You can check out the full tracklist below and watch the video for "Robotic" at the bottom of the page.

Dirty Glow:

1. Hangin' Out

2. In The Summer 
3. Baby Don't Walk Away
4. Turn Around
5. Lead The Way 
6. Nightmare
7. Good Thing
8. Elevator To Tomorrow
9. Are You Ready For A Good Time
10. Robotic 
11. Evil Dancer